Sobre Selections

Sobre Selections - San Antonio Volume 2

Sobre Selections - San Antonio Volume 2, curated by Alyssa Bunting, features yet another wide-ranging variety of homegrown artists. 


Lloronas - "Tell That Girl To Speak Up"

Last Nighters - "Where's The Blue Line"

Michael McKenzie ft Jeremy Kingg - "Eye4Eye"

Sarah Y Hermanos - "Pretty Boy Blues" 

Los Nahuatlatos - "Saturn"

Televangelist - "Crossing Ponds"

something fiction - "The Healer"

Sugar Skulls - "Oh I'm Sorry"

Grupo Frackaso - "Desenfriol"

Whatever? - "Emerald Eyes" 

Alyson Alonzo - "Love Memory"

Sobre Selections: Lydmor & Bon Homme

Lydmor & Bon Homme are a Danish electronic indie pop band that just released their debut album called Seven Dreams of Fire in November 2015. It is a collaboration between Tomas Høffding (remix artist and singer/bassist in the Danish electronic pop band WhoMadeWho and solo act Bon Homme) and Jenny Rossander (singer/producer in solo act Lydmor). Together they have created an album full of alluring vocals, catchy melodies, and captivating synth beats. The first single called “Things We Do For Love” is one of my favorite tracks on the album, but I also really love the tracks “Dream of Fire,” 

“Trampoline,” and “Missed Out on Disco.” The whole album has this laid back feel with a mix of a house, dance, electronic, disco, pop music vibe, and I can hear remnants of OMD, The Cure, Bryan Ferry, and even Crystal Castles in some of the songs mentioned above, but I have a feeling this is unintended. Jenny Rossander's vocals can be angelic at times, and maybe that is why she is called Lydmor in Danish which means 'sound mother.' Tomas Høffding has a cool vocal style just as entrancing as Jenny's, and together both in vocals and music, it seems to all work really well. Lydmor & Bon Homme have made a great album that is worth checking out. 

Album out now on vinyl, CD, digital and stream: VinylCD or MP3 from Amazon. 

Sobre Selections: A Christmas Playlist That Doesn't Suck

Much like that certain type of alcohol you can never drink again because of that one night you went overboard with it, Christmas music tends to leave a bad taste in people's mouths. Every retail worker is ready to pull their ears off theirs heads by mid November due to the same overplayed mall jingles on loop, it was my personal hell once upon a time ago. 

Well, Sobre Sound complied 20 really cool original/ versions of Christmas songs by various artists we all love to get in the Christmas spirit. You won't find any Mariah Carey in here, though. Enjoy! 

1. Double Feature: Louis Armstrong - "Christmas in New Orleans" and Billie Holiday - "I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm"

2. John Lennon - Happy Christmas (War is Over)

3. Willie Nelson - Winter Wonderland

4. The Ramones - Merry Christmas (I Don't Want to Fight Tonight)

5. Run the Jewels - "A Fucking Christmas Miracle"

6. Hank Ballard & The Midnighters - "Christmas Time for Everybody"

7. Sufjan Stevens - "I'll be Home for Christmas" 

8. The Sonics - "Santa Clause"

9. She and Him- "Baby It's Cold Outside"

10. The Galaxies - "Rudolph the Red Nose Reindeer"

11. Trans Siberian Orchestra - "Carol of the Bells"

12. The Killers - "Don't Shoot Me Santa"

13. The Four Seasons - "Santa Claus is Coming to Town"

14. RUN DMC - "Christmas in Hollis" 

15. The Beach Boys - "Little Saint Nick"

16. Hank Williams Jr. - "Little Drummer Boy"

17. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs - "All I Want for Christmas"

18. Bob Marley and the Wailers -"White Christmas"

19. Dick Dale - "Silent Night"

20. Los Tigeres de Norte - "Un Cuento de Navidad"

Sobre Selections - Zebra Katz

Zebra Katz released a contemporary music video entitled  "Nu Rengade". The twelve minute short film spirals you into a warped cult session lead by a dissociated priest, a maniacal church rave and finally in a dark dual reality. Growling bass lines and deep beats from producer Leila rolling over a spoken word flow carry tracks "Nu Renegade", "Fucking Beast" and "What U Want".  

This creepy piece will keep you on the edge of your seat and will make you sink back but the hypnotizing club sound will keep you locked in . Somehow the crazy undertones of the video managed to caused a stir throughout production but nonetheless this amazing release provokes new ideas of corruption, religion, and essentially a dark market.